Application Process

Categories and submitting an entry

This year’s awards will feature six categories:

Four categories open to organisations and their finance functions:

  • Large business 
  • Small and medium-sized enterprise
  • Public sector and third sector
  • Communicating integrated thinking

One category open to investors and financial services

  • Investing and financing

One category open to individuals:

  • Innovative new idea

Initial entry is by submission of a completed entry form to Finance for the Future. The form can be completed online or by downloading a word document version and submitting by email. There is an individual word limit for each of the questions.

Entries for 2017 Finance for the Future Awards will open on Monday 6 March 2017.

The awards timeline, outlining the key dates of the awards process, is available here.

Due diligence and assessment

Once we’ve received your form it will go through a due diligence process, where we will check that the information meets the award criteria. We will also check the three years of financial statements that you are required to send with your entry. Financial statements are not initially required for the Innovative new idea category, but you may be asked to submit supporting documentation for your entry. If this is required, we will contact you after you have submitted your entry and our team has reviewed your completed form.

If your application does not demonstrate that you have met the award criteria, you may be eliminated from further stages in the assessment and judging process. Click here for more information on the awards terms and conditions.

Once your application has successfully gone through this process, two members of the awards assessment team will carry out a site visit to your company’s premises. This visit will be approximately two hours in length and will be an opportunity for the assessors to get to know your businesses properly; to walk about and to meet and talk to employees. The purpose of these visits is not to attend any formal presentations. Site visits will take place between 5 June and 28 July.

Once these assessments have taken place, a shortlist of finalists in each category will be drawn up. The finalists for the 2017 awards will be announced the first week of August.


We will invite finalists to give a formal presentation to the judging panel in London on Friday 8 September 2017.

Winners announcement

Winners will then be announced at a presentation ceremony in London on Thursday 12 October 2017. The evening event is an invitation-only event.